Tuesday, 13 November 2018 14:06

Sri Lanka ’s two state banks operate head headless

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Sri Lanka ’s two state banks, the Bank of Ceylon and Peoples Bank are functioning virtually head less as the tow nominees of President Maithreepala Sirisena are still to assume duties as chairpersons of the two banks, a leader of Ceylon Bank Employees Union (CBEU) said.

Ms. Sujatha Perera and Ms. Damitha de Soyza have been nominated by the president for the posts of Chairpersons of the state owned Bank of Ceylon and the People's Bank, e presidential secretariat sources confirmed.

But both of them were still to assume duties, he said adding that the president should intervene and fill the void created in the two banks following his action to dissolve the Board of Directors of the tow Banks on October 18. Board of Directors were also yet to be appointed, he disclosed. .

He noted that Secretary to the President had communicated that the President wishes to reconstitute the Boards, hence requested the members of the Board to resign

The Peoples' Bank Chairman - Hemasiri Fernando has tendered his resignation to former minister Lakshman Kiriella on October 22.

But Bank of Ceylon Chairman Ronald C Perera,has not tendered his resignation . However even Mr Perera is not reporting for duty at present, he revealed.


Latest News

There are 30402 listings and 923 categories in our website

Call us

For Business Promotions - +94 777 200 670